STD Tuning Engine OM606 Prechamber combustion leak

OM606 Prechamber combustion leak

OM606 Prechamber combustion leak

• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

mwoodland
Naturally-aspirated

03-07-2014, 11:35 AM #1
Greetings,
My name is Mark, and I'm new to the STD group, but have been wrenching on Benz's since the early '70s. I've searched various boards, and have only seen this mentioned once, but no resolution was ever posted.
The patient is a '95 OM606 NA. It's chuffing combustion gas around #6, and I haven't been into the 606 that deep yet, and don't have the prechamber serrated lock ring tool.
A question, if I may.
I've seen this mentioned regarding 602s, but not the 606 engine. (I've searched the threads to no avail..)
Would this typically respond to re-torquing, or is it a symptom of something deeper, i.e. should I pull the glowplug and prechamber, clean and reassemble with a new heat shield? My understanding is that there is no sealing ring under the Prechamber unless the head has been machined.
Does this typically indicate a bad heat shield, cracked prechamber, or what the heck?
The car has almost 260K and has never been apart, as far as I know. I was thinking about pulling and cleaning all of the injectors, balancing pop pressures, etc, but I run fuel additives and it runs great.
Mileage runs from 37 when it's hot out, to 30-32 this time of year.
Any BTDTs would be appreciated.
I was planning on doing a turbo conversion of the NA engine. I already have an OM603 turbo injection pump, and am looking for an OM606 turbo exhaust manifold and turbo, if you happen to know of any.. I was hoping to hold off on the injector rebuilds until I installed the turbo setup, understanding the pop pressure would have to be adjusted to turbo specs.
Best regards,
Mark
mwoodland
03-07-2014, 11:35 AM #1

Greetings,