STD Tuning Engine Glow plug, and preglow system

Glow plug, and preglow system

Glow plug, and preglow system

• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

George3soccer
Holset

09-09-2010, 10:02 AM #1
Hey guys not sure if this is the right section, but I do need some advice in this part of my project.

I am retrofitting the glow plug relay to a gas chassis vehicle. I am no expert with wiring diagrams, just wanted to pass this by with everyone here. And to see if I am on the right track, and what not.

The actual manual about the 602,603 glow plug can be found here check it out.

http://pdfcast.org/pdf/mercedes-benz-om602-3-glowplug

And here are the diagrams, and pictures I will be reffering to.

[Image: 6rpzcj.jpg]

[Image: fvlgur.jpg]

x4 (prong 30) - switched 12v source, does this have to be wired to the fuse box if not I will pull a large 12v source straight from the terminal block near the battery.

R9 (prongs G1, G2, G3, G4, G5, G6 glow plug socket to each glow plug.) - self explanatory

Here is where I get slightly confused on the little 5 prong socket.

w9 (prong 31) - ground easy enought i suppose.

prong LA - be the signal or power not sure which word I should use, to the instrument cluster bulb.

prong 15 - looks to be part of fuse and relay box, is this really necessary

prong 50 - starter lockout and backup light, is this really necessary aswell, not sure exactly how this would work, of course the 603 is a 5 speed now.

prong 31 - looks to be attached to W9 as in the ground . already mentioned above.

prong T - looks to be attached to x25 (plug conector preglow wiring harness, and then attaches to B11/7 being temperature sensor (preglow)) I still have the sensor which is on the side of the motor near the water pump, does this sound right.

Please someone just look at it, electrical wiring diagrams are not my finest work, just need to get things cleared up. Thank you.
George3soccer
09-09-2010, 10:02 AM #1