STD
300sd engine misfire - Printable Version

+- STD (https://www.superturbodiesel.com/std)
+-- Forum: Maintenance (https://www.superturbodiesel.com/std/forumdisplay.php?fid=22)
+--- Forum: General (https://www.superturbodiesel.com/std/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: 300sd engine misfire (/showthread.php?tid=2511)

300sd engine misfire - kunasw - 04-13-2011

Hi everyone I am new.

I have a 1980 300sd turbo diesel with almost 200k miles with misfiring engine.

all five cylinders do not fire all the time, it feels like. normally it will be running on 4.5 and sometimes it will loose power drastically and it really feels like running on 1 or 2 cylinders. sometimes it stops on the road but usually i just keep on pressing the accel then others gradually start to fire again.

I am not a mechanic but wants to learn and work on my own car.
I had started with this one. i changed the oil, oil filter, both fuel filters, air filters, battery, glow plugs, and did valve adjustments.

I very much like this car and hope i can do some mods on it too like other members in this forum but still cannot turn it into a daily driver.
I got this one for like 2k if this problem is related with serious engine damage then maybe i need to get rid of it but i wish i don't have to.

Please help THANK YOU

RE: 300sd engine misfire - aaa - 04-13-2011

I'm starting to hate the word misfire, it seems to be a really bad way to describe these problems.

The "sometimes" part makes me think it's still fuel related. There is a filter screen in the tank itself as well. Any signs of black stuff on your old filters?

RE: 300sd engine misfire - kunasw - 04-14-2011

YES I had a problem with clogged up fuel filter. my mechanic told me i may need to clean the tank

YES I had a problem with clogged up fuel filter. my mechanic told me i may need to clean the tank

RE: 300sd engine misfire - larsalan - 04-14-2011

Which filter? What was the clog?

replaced both prefilter and the spin on.